ul. Marszałkowska 142 00-061 Warsaw, Poland Tel:. +48 (22) 565 29 00 E-mail: wawamb@um.dk http://polen.um.dk

## **Open Letter**

Open letter of the Ambassadors of Argentina, Australia, Austria, Canada, Chile, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Ecuador, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Montenegro, The Netherlands, New Zealand, North Macedonia, Norway, Portugal, San Marino, Serbia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Ukraine, United Kingdom, Venezuela, as well as the General Representative of the Government of Flanders, the CEO of Wallonie-Bruxelles International, the Head of the European Parliament Liaison Office in Poland, the Representatives in Poland of the European Commission and of the UNHCR, the Director of The OSCE Office for Democratic Institutions and Human Rights, the Chief of Mission of the International Organization for Migration and the Secretary General of the Community of Democracies, and, as members of the troika of coordinating embassies: Belgium, Denmark and the United States.

This year, the letter has been coordinated by the Embassy of the Kingdom of Denmark in Poland.

On the occasion of the International Day against Homophobia, Biphobia and Transphobia (IDAHOT), we express our support for the efforts to raise public awareness of issues affecting the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and intersex (LGBTI) community and other communities in Poland facing similar challenges.

To this end, we acknowledge the efforts of the organisers of the equality parade and marches in Białystok, Bydgoszcz, Częstochowa, Gdynia, Gniezno, Gorzów Wielkopolski, Kalisz, Katowice, Kielce, Konin, Koszalin, Kraków, Lublin, Łódź, Olsztyn, Opole, Piła, Płock, Poznań, Radomsko, Rzeszów, Szczecin, Toruń, Trójmiasto, Warsaw, Włocławek, Wrocław and Zielona Góra.

We affirm the inherent dignity of each individual as expressed in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights.

Respect for these fundamental rights, which are also enshrined in OSCE commitments and the obligations and standards of the Council of Europe and the European Union as communities of rights and values, obliges governments to protect all citizens from violence and discrimination and to ensure they enjoy equal opportunities.

To this end, and in particular to shield communities in need of protection from verbal and physical abuse and hate speech, we need to jointly work on an environment of non-discrimination, tolerance and mutual acceptance.

This includes in particular sectors such as education, health, social affairs, citizenship, public service and public documents.

We pay tribute to the hard work of LGBTI and other communities in Poland and around the world, as well as the work of all those who seek to ensure human rights for LGBTI and other persons belonging to communities facing similar challenges, and to end discrimination in particular on the basis of sexual orientation or gender identity.

Human rights are universal and everyone, including LGBTI persons - are entitled to their full enjoyment.

This is something that everyone should support.

Signed,

As members of the troika of coordinators:

H.E. Luc Jacobs, Ambassador of the Kingdom of Belgium, 2020 coordinator
H.E. Ole Toft, Ambassador of the Kingdom of Denmark, 2021 coordinator

Mr B. Bix Aliu, Chargé d'affaires, a.i., Embassy of the United States of America, 2022 coordinator

## And as signatories:

H.E. Ana María Ramírez, Ambassador of the Argentine Republic

H.E. Lloyd Brodrick, Ambassador of Australia

H.E. Werner Almhofer, Ambassador of Austria

H.E. Leslie Scanlon, Ambassador of Canada

H.E. Julio Bravo Iubini, Ambassador of Chile

H.E. Tomislav Vidošević, Ambassador of the Republic of Croatia

Mr Georgios Georgiou, Chargé d'affaires, Embassy of the Republic of Cyprus

H.E. Ivan Jestřáb, Ambassador of the Czech Republic

Mr Iván Garces Burbano, Chargé d'affaires, Embassy of Ecuador

H.E. Martin Roger, Ambassador of the Republic of Estonia

H.E. Juha Ottman, Ambassador of Finland

H.E. Frédéric Billet, Ambassador of France

H.E. Arndt Freytag von Loringhoven, Ambassador of Germany

H.E. Michael-Efstratios C. Daratzikis, Ambassador of the Hellenic Republic

H.E. María Erla Marelsdóttir, Ambassador of Iceland

H.E. Emer O'Connell, Ambassador of Ireland

Ms Tal Ben-Ari Yaalon, Chargé d'affaires, Embassy of Israel

H.E. Aldo Amati, Ambassador of Italy

H.E. Edgars Bondars, Ambassador of the Republic of Latvia

H.E. Eduardas Borisovas, Ambassador of the Republic of Lithuania

H.E. Paul Schmit, Ambassador of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg

H.E. John Paul Grech, Ambassador of the Republic of Malta

Mr Robert Markić, Charge d'affaires a.i., Embassy of Montenegro

H.E. Daphne Bergsma, Ambassador of the Kingdom of the Netherlands

H.E. Mary Thurston, Ambassador of New Zealand

H.E. Vasil Panovski, Ambassador of the Republic of North Macedonia

H.E. Anders Eide, Ambassador of the Kingdom of Norway

- H.E. Luís Cabaço, Ambassador of Portugal
- H.E. Dario Galassi, Ambassador of San Marino
- H.E. Nikola Zurovac, Ambassador of the Republic of Serbia
- H.E. Božena Forštnarič Boroje, Ambassador of the Republic of Slovenia
- H.E. Francisco Javier Sanabria Valderrama, Ambassador of the Kingdom of Spain
- H.E. Stefan Gullgren, Ambassador of Sweden
- H.E. Jürg Burri, Ambassador of Switzerland
- H.E. Andrii Deshchytsia, Ambassador of Ukraine
- H.E. Anna Clunes, Ambassador of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

H.E. Luis Gómez Urdaneta, Ambassador of the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela Mr Matteo Mecacci, Director of the OSCE Office for Democratic Institutions and Human Rights

Mr Witold Naturski, Acting Head of Representation, European Commission in Poland Mr Jacek Safuta, Head of the European Parliament Liaison Office in Poland Ms Christine Goyer, Representative of UNHCR Representation in Poland Mr Thomas Castrel, General Representative of the Government of Flanders Ms Pascale Delcomminette, CEO of Wallonie-Bruxelles International, Wallonia-Brussels Office in Warsaw

Mr Thomas E. Garrett, Secretary General of the Community of Democracies Ms Livia Styp-Rekowska, Chief of Mission, International Organization for Migration (IOM)